Deactivate and restore team members
If your staff changes in the middle of a subscription cycle, a firm owner or an admin can deactivate a team member’s account to make room for someone new. A deactivated team member’s account can always be restored.
Note
This article is for the firm owner and admins only.Team member’s deactivation, explained
Once you deactivate the team member’s account:
- The login to their account is disabled.
- Account access becomes unlinked from their account.
- Their email account is unsynced. You’ll no longer be able to view their emails in TaxDome.
- Their chats remain available in the portal.
- Their assigned accounts are reassigned to team members with default account access .
- Their assigned jobs, tasks, automations, and job recurrences are reassigned to the firm owner.
- Their data is removed from reports and dashboards that are built using the reporting feature.
- Their employee cost-rate history is kept, hidden while deactivated, and restored automatically if you reactivate them.
Note
On the seat-based model, their seat becomes available for adding or reactivating team members. On client-based pricing, they no longer count toward your 20 included team members.Tip
If you hire seasonal staff , we recommend they use an email address you also manage (for example, [email protected] ) so it is still accessible once the season ends.Before you start: reassignments needed
Before deactivating a team member, reassign their accounts, jobs, tasks, and roles to avoid work interruptions.
Deactivate a team member
To deactivate a team member’s account:
-
Go to Settings > Team & Plans and open the Team members tab.
-
Click on the three dots to the far right of the team member’s name, then click Deactivate and confirm by clicking Deactivate in the sidebar.
- Review what will change, then confirm by clicking Deactivate in the pop-up. What happens next depends on your subscription type:
Once confirmed, the team member is deactivated and no longer counts toward your 20 included team members.
The pop-up shows what deactivating this team member frees up on your seat-based subscription.
Once confirmed, choose what to do with the seat:
- Keep seat: keeps it active and available for a new team member.
- Remove seat: removes it from your subscription to avoid being charged at renewal.
You can always see how many seats you have available by navigating to Settings > Team & plans. In the Plan overview tab, view the Seats section to see details about available seats.
Deactivated team member list
Once you deactivate a team member, their personal info is moved to Deactivated members subtab of the Team members tab.
Here, you can:
-
Sort the list of deactivated team members by name, their account-creation date, or their account-deactivation date.
-
Restore a team member’s account.
Restore a team member
Note
You cannot move a team member from one firm to another.To restore a team member’s account, follow these steps:
-
Go to Settings > Team & Plans and open the Team members tab, then select the Deactivated members subtab.
-
Click Restore button to the far right of team member’s name.
- What happens next depends on your subscription type:
Client-based plans include up to 20 team members. If your firm already has 20 active team members, contact sales about the custom plan to add more.
The next step depends on whether you have available seats. You’ll be prompted to assign a seat to the restored user. You can choose between:
- Use an available seat: If you have an available seat (from a previously deactivated team member), you can assign it to the restored team member at no additional cost.
- Purchase a new seat: If no seats are available, you’ll need to purchase one. Choose from the seat types your plan offers—full-term, or a shorter-term seat (monthly, or seasonal on plans that include it) billed on its own cycle from the purchase date.
- Click Restore to complete the process.